Makeform vs Jotform: a free Jotform alternative (2026)
By the Makeform editorial team · Last updated November 7, 2026 · Pricing verified November 2026
Verdict: Choose Makeform for unlimited free forms and submissions; choose Jotform when its larger native integration catalog is the deciding factor.
Makeform is a free AI form builder: describe what you want to collect and it builds the form for you, with unlimited forms and submissions on the free plan. As of November 2026, Jotform Starter allows five active forms and 100 monthly submissions, while offering a free AI Form Generator. Jotform has more native integrations, so check your required connections alongside the free limits.
Free plan limits at a glance
Jotform details below are as of November 2026, according to its pricing and product pages. Makeform's unlimited allowances are subject to fair-use guidelines.
| Makeform Free | Jotform Free | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $0 | $0; Starter |
| Forms | Unlimited | 5 active forms |
| Responses / submissions | Unlimited | 100/month |
| File uploads | 20 MB per file; total storage not stated | 100 MB upload space; per-file limit not stated |
| Branding | Makeform branding | Jotform branding |
| AI form building | Free; up to 50 questions per AI draft | Free AI Form Generator; plan limits apply |
| Cheapest paid plan | Pro: $29/month monthly or $19/month billed yearly | Bronze: $39/month monthly or $34/month billed annually |
| Remove branding from | Pro: $29/month monthly or $19/month billed yearly | Bronze: $39/month monthly or $34/month billed annually |
Upload space and maximum file size measure different things. The table does not treat Jotform's total storage allowance as a per-file limit.
Feature comparison
Jotform features and limits below are as of November 2026.
| Feature | Makeform | Jotform |
|---|---|---|
| AI form creation | Free | Free; plan limits apply |
| Refining forms through AI chat | Free | Yes |
| Questions / fields per form | Unlimited within fair-use guidelines | 100 fields on Starter |
| File uploads | Free; 20 MB per file | Starter; 100 MB upload space |
| Automatically graded quizzes | Free | Yes |
| Native integration catalog | Fewer native integrations than Jotform | Advertises 150+; navigation also says 200+ |
| ChatGPT and Claude MCP access | Yes | Yes |
| MCP form creation and editing | Yes | Yes |
| MCP access to submissions | List, export, and summarize | Get and create submissions |
| MCP authentication | OAuth or API key, depending on client | OAuth only |
| Remove branding | Pro | Bronze and above |
Where Makeform is the better fit
- You need more than five active forms or more than 100 submissions a month without upgrading. Makeform Free has unlimited forms and submissions within fair-use guidelines; as of November 2026, Jotform Starter has both caps.
- You need more than 100 questions on a form. Makeform Free allows unlimited questions within fair-use guidelines, although the AI creates up to 50 questions in one draft and you add more yourself. As of November 2026, Jotform Starter allows 100 fields per form.
- You want a printable quiz with an answer key as well as an online scored quiz. Makeform supports both through its quiz builder; you can print or download as a PDF.
- You need a documented API-key connection for an MCP client such as Codex CLI. Makeform supports an API key as a Bearer token; as of November 2026, Jotform MCP uses OAuth only.
- You want lower listed pricing for branding removal. Makeform Pro is $29/month billed monthly or $19/month billed yearly; as of November 2026, Jotform Bronze is $39/month billed monthly or $34/month billed annually.
Where Jotform is the better fit
- You need a broader native integration catalog. As of November 2026, Jotform advertises 150+ integrations, with 200+ also appearing in its navigation. Makeform has fewer native integrations, so confirm your required connection before switching.
- Your assistant workflow specifically needs to create a submission through MCP. As of November 2026, Jotform documents a create_submission tool alongside form creation, editing, listing, and submission retrieval, with connections for ChatGPT, Claude, Manus, and Cursor.
Pricing compared
Makeform offers Free, Pro at $29/month or $228/year ($19/month), and Business at $89/month or $708/year ($59/month). As of November 2026, Jotform's pricing page lists Starter as free; Bronze at $39/month or $34/month billed annually for 25 forms and 1,000 submissions/month; Silver at $49/month or $39/month billed annually for 50 forms and 2,500 submissions/month; and Gold at $129/month or $99/month billed annually for 100 forms and 10,000 submissions/month. Branding is removable from Jotform Bronze. Makeform Pro includes branding removal, custom domains, and team collaboration; see plans and pricing.
How to switch from Jotform to Makeform
- Open Create a form with AI and describe your existing Jotform or paste its questions. You can begin drafting without an account.
- Review and refine the draft by chatting with the AI or editing visually. Check required fields, calculations, upload needs, and the integrations your workflow depends on.
- Create a free account to save and publish the form, then share its link or embed it. Connect supported destinations directly, or configure webhooks, Zapier, or Make for the workflow you need.
FAQ
Is Makeform really free for unlimited forms and submissions?
Yes, within fair-use guidelines. Free also includes unlimited questions, AI form building, conditional logic, and Stripe payments with standard Stripe processing fees. Branding removal, custom domains, and collaboration require Pro.
What are Jotform's free limits?
As of November 2026, Jotform Starter includes five active forms, 100 monthly submissions, 10,000 monthly form views, 100 MB of upload space, and 100 fields per form. Starter forms show Jotform branding.
Does Jotform also have a free AI builder?
Yes: as of November 2026, Jotform's AI Form Generator is free to use and supports refinement through chat, with form limits following your plan. Makeform also includes AI creation and chat editing on Free, with up to 50 questions generated in one draft.
Which builder has more integrations?
As of November 2026, Jotform has the broader native catalog and advertises 150+ integrations, while its navigation also says 200+. Makeform Free includes Google Sheets, Notion, Slack, Airtable, Zapier, Make, and webhooks, among others. Google Analytics, Meta Pixel, and Google Drive are Pro integrations in Makeform.
Can I remove branding on a free plan?
Makeform requires Pro, and as of November 2026, Jotform requires Bronze or above. Makeform Pro is $29/month billed monthly or $19/month billed yearly; Jotform Bronze is $39/month billed monthly or $34/month billed annually.
Can I use these builders from ChatGPT or Claude?
Makeform is in ChatGPT's app directory; in Claude you add it as a custom connector (mcp.makeform.ai). Other clients such as Codex CLI can use an API key. As of November 2026, Jotform MCP supports ChatGPT, Claude, Manus, and Cursor through OAuth, with five documented tools and no extra MCP charge beyond your plan. Makeform publishing through MCP requires explicit confirmation, and deleting forms is dashboard-only.
More comparisons
Sources
Pricing verified November 2026.